Home Telephone Location New Telephone Numbers

Google Translate is not 100% accurate

Eco Schools Programme

The Eco Schools programme is an international environmental award scheme for schools run in Northern Ireland by Keep Northern Ireland Beautiful.

It promotes sustainable living through whole-school action supported by learning resources, management tools and the internationally recognised Green Flag award scheme.

Schools who wish to take part in the Eco Schools Programme should firstly register at: www.eco-schoolsni.org.

There are three levels of award: Bronze, Silver and Green Flag.

Schools can choose from 11 topics:

  • Biodiversity
  • Climate Action
  • Energy                                                                                        
  • Global Perspective
  • Healthy Living
  • Litter
  • Marine
  • Outdoor Learning
  • Transport
  • Waste
  • Water

Local School's Green Flag Success

During the 2020-21 school year 27 schools achieved their first Green Flag, or renewed their Green Flag, bringing the total number of schools with Green Flags to 43 in the district. The Green Flag is the highest award in the Eco-Schools Programme and is internatuonally recognised.

Newry, Mourne and Down District Council Chairperson, Councillor Cathy Mason visited one of our new Green Flag Schools, St Louis Grammar School, Kilkeel, to hear about all the positive environmental work they had carried out to help them obtain their first flag.

The Chairperson is pictured below with members of the Eco Committee and Mr Kevin Martin, Principal and Mr Ruairí McAuley, Eco Teacher.

Contact Details

Newry Office
Patrick McShane
Telephone: 0330 137 4024
Email: patrick.mcshane@nmandd.org

Downpatrick Office
Rebecca McGreevy
Telephone: 0330 137 4024
Email: rebecca.mcgreevy@nmandd.org

Lucinda Scott
Telephone: 0330 137 4024
Email: lucinda.scott@nmandd.org

st louis