Home Telephone Location New Telephone Numbers

Google Translate is not 100% accurate

Council Area

Newry, Mourne and Down District Council covers the south-east of Northern Ireland, including southern County Armagh and large parts of County Down

Newry, Mourne and Down District Council has a combined revenue and capital budget of circa £60 million and over 1,000 employees. We are responsible for providing services such as Household Waste Collection, Registration, Leisure, Environmental Health, Building Control, Economic Development and Tourism. We are also responsible for Planning and Community Planning - statutory functions transferred from central  government to NI local authorities in 2015.

The Council works in partnership with local communities and organisations – including the public, voluntary, community and private sectors to develop a vision for our local area, working collaboratively to improve services and quality of life for all our citizens.

Our mission as a Council is: 

To support and advocate for a welcoming district which is progressive, healthy and sustainable, providing better economic, environmental and social outcomes for all.

Strategically located on the important eastern A1/M1 economic  corridor, Newry Mourne and Down has
an estimated population of 181,368, a coastline of approximately 150 kilometres, and encompasses an area of 1,634 square kilometres, we have three Areas of Outstanding Natural  Beauty; Mourne, Ring of Gullion, and Strangford and Lecale.