NEWRY, MOURNE & DOWN DISTRICT COUNCIL

NMD/C/

Minutes of Council Meeting held on Monday 27 March 2017 at 6pm in the Mourne Room, Downshire Civic Centre, Downpatrick

In the Chair:	Councillor G Fitzpatrick	
In attendance:	(Councillors)	
	Councillor T Andrews Councillor R Burgess Councillor P Byrne Councillor D Curran Councillor G Hanna Councillor T Hearty Councillor J Macauley Councillor A McMurray Councillor M Murnin Councillor B Quinn Councillor G Stokes Councillor J Trainor	Councillor P Brown Councillor S Burns Councillor C Casey Councillor C Enright Councillor H Harvey Councillor K Loughran Councillor D McAteer Councillor R Mulgrew Councillor B O'Múiri Councillor M Ruane Councillor J J Tinnelly Councillor W Walker
Also in attendance:	 (Officials) Mr L Hannaway, Chief Executive Mrs E McParland, Democratic Services Manager Miss S Taggart, Democratic Services Officer Mrs L Dillon, Democratic Services Officer Representatives from UNA (NI) Students and Teachers from Down High School, Downpatrick; St Paul's High Schook, Bessbrook; St Mary's 	
SC/4/2017	High School, Newry and Shi Newcastle.	mna Integrated College,
SC/4/2017 <u>A</u>	APOLOGIES AND CHAIRPERSON'S REMARKS	

Apologies were received from Councillors Carr, Clarke, Craig, Devlin, Harte and Sharvin.

The Chairperson stated she was delighted to receive the UN Charter on behalf of Council and applauded the work carried out by the regional group. She commended the local students and stated she was looking forward to listening to their presentations. She invited Patricia Irvine, Chairperson of UNA (NI) to speak.

SC/5/2017 INTRODUCTION BY CHAIRPERSON OF UNA (UNITED NATIONS ASSOCIATION) NI

Mrs Irvine thanked the Chairperson of Council for agreeing to host the special reception and the opportunity to meet with the Council. She stated the event marked the completion of the UNA Schools' project celebrating the 70th anniversary of UN and UNA.

Mrs Irvine advised she had been privileged to see the dedication of pupils and hear about the huge range of work regarding international issues that has been undertaken within the schools and thanked the teachers for their encouragement and support.

She stated that within the 70 years of its existence, huge changes have taken place within the UN and there were many local people who find a career within the UN. She highlighted Sean Lester who was the last director general and had been born in Carrickfergus.

Mrs Irvine highlighted a new set of 17 sustainable development goals for the world to work towards and that UNA was part of worldwide voluntary membership organisation and the only charity to build support for UN among policy makers, and the public. She advised UNA was a friend and critique of the UN that campaigns for reform where and when necessary.

SC/6/2017 PRESENTATION BY SCHOOLS

The Chairperson invited the students to make their presentations.

Lois and Jordan from Down High School gave a presentation on their experiences with Saphara in India.

Molly and Hannah outlined the work undertaken with regard to African School Projects by St Mary's High School, Warrenpoint.

Richard, Tara and Kerry highlighted the International Project Programmes undertaken by St Paul's High School, Bessbrook.

Megan and Maya from Shimna Integrated outlined their work as part of the Amnesty International grouping within their school.

Sarah and Nicole from Shimna Integrated highlighted the work on-going with their school and Habitat for Humanity.

The Chairperson thanked the students for their very comprehensive presentations and the excellent work that they and their schools had undertaken.

SC/7/2017 OPEN SESSION

Members spoke in support of the work undertaken by the students and their schools with regard to international charity work, stating they were a credit to their parents, schools, communities and themselves.

Mrs Irvine presented a copy of the Charter to a representative from each school as well as to the Chairperson for the Council. She thanked the Chairperson for hosting the event.

There being no further business, the meeting concluded at 7.10pm

Signed:

Chairperson

Chief Executive