

March 14th, 2022

Notice Of Meeting

You are invited to attend the Special Meeting of Newry, Mourne and Down District Council to be held on Friday, 18th March 2022 at 4:00 pm in the Mourne Room Downshire and Microsoft Teams.

Agenda

1.0 Apologies and Chairperson's remarks.

2.0 Declarations of Interest.

3.0 Notice of Motion - cost of living crisis.

Notice of Motion proposed by Councillor O'Muiri and seconded by Councillor Hanlon

"This Council recognises with deep concern the cost of living crisis that is impacting hundreds of thousands of families across our society, and the rise in home energy and electricity costs which has placed a severe burden on already struggling households and businesses across our Council area.

The collapse of the Executive caused by the resignation of DUP First Minister Paul Givan is preventing a budget, or the allocation of £300m available from Treasury from being agreed and is hampering Ministers from using their full spending power to give people relief who rely and depend upon it.

This Council calls for the immediate restoration of the Executive in order to allocate and agree spending to support workers and families.

Furthermore this Council calls upon the Westminster Government to take action, where local Ministers cannot, by scrapping VAT on domestic energy bills and cutting duty on home heating oil, petrol and diesel, for the duration of the energy crisis; introducing a windfall tax on energy generators and redirect money towards supporting families; reverse the planned increase in National Insurance Contributions; and halt the planned change in red diesel entitlement".

Invitees

Cllr Terry Andrews
Mr Alan Beggs
Ms Kate Bingham
Cllr Patrick Brown
Cllr Robert Burgess
Cllr Pete Byrne
Mr Gerard Byrne
Mrs Dorinnia Carville
Cllr Charlie Casey
Cllr William Clarke
Cllr Dermot Curran
Ms Alice Curran
Cllr Laura Devlin
Mr Eoin Devlin
Ms Louise Dillon
Cllr Cadogan Enright
Cllr Aoife Finnegan
Cllr Hugh Gallagher
Cllr Mark Gibbons
Cllr Oonagh Hanlon
Cllr Glyn Hanna
Cllr Valerie Harte
Mrs Janine Hillen
Cllr Roisin Howell
Mr Colum Jackson
Miss Veronica Keegan
Mrs Sheila Kieran
Cllr Mickey Larkin
Cllr Alan Lewis
Mr Michael Lipsett
Mrs Regina Mackin
Cllr Oonadh Magennis
Mr Conor Mallon
Cllr Gavin Malone
Cllr Cathy Mason
Mr. Johnny Mc Bride
Colette McAteer
Cllr Declan McAteer
Clir Leeanne McEvov
Clir Harold McKee
Patricia McKeever
Cllr Karen McKevitt

Cllr Andrew McMurray
Cllr Roisin Mulgrew
Cllr Declan Murphy
Cllr Barra Ó Muirí
Linda O'Hare
Cllr Gerry O'Hare
Cllr Kathryn Owen
Mr Andy Patterson
Cllr Henry Reilly
Cllr Michael Rice
Ms Alison Robb
Cllr Michael Ruane
Cllr Michael Savage
Cllr Gareth Sharvin
Donna Starkey
Cllr Gary Stokes
Sarah Taggart
Cllr David Taylor
Cllr Jarlath Tinnelly
Cllr John Trainor
Central Support Unit
Cllr William Walker
Mrs Marie Ward