Addendum to Paper 15: Strategic Settlement Evaluation

1.0 Paper 15: Strategic Settlement Evaluation (Paper 15) was reported to the Council's Strategy Policy and Resources Committee on 14 December 2017. In consideration of the paper the Committee agreed that two of the settlements identified for reclassification be retained within their existing classification i.e. Crossmaglen to be retained as a Tier 2: Local and Small Town' settlement and Ballyholland to be retained as a `Tier 3: Village' settlement.

1.1 The proposed 'Settlement Hierarchy' to inform the preparation of the Council's Local Development Plan, as amended by the Strategy Policy and Resources Committee, was agreed by the Council at its meeting on 8 January 2018.

1.2 Appendix B of Paper 15 has been amended accordingly (see over).

Settlement	Newry & Mourne Settlement Populations		
Hierarchy			
Tier 1 – City &	Newry (26,893)		
Main Town	Downpatrick (10,874)		
Tier 2 - Local	Newcastle (7,743)		
& Small	Warrenpoint (7,475)		
Towns	Kilkeel (6,521)		
	Ballynahinch (5,715)		
	Saintfield (3,406)		
	Killyleagh (2,928)		
	Castlewellan (2,792)		
	Bessbrook (2,739)		
	Crossmaglen (1,608)		
Tier 3 -	Rostrevor (2,788)	Killough (843)	Ballykinler (447)
Villages	Crossgar (1,892)	Newtownhamilton (800)	Cullyhanna (326)
J. J	Annalong (1,796)	Meigh (770)	Clough (279)
	Hilltown (1,698)	Annsborough (767)	
	Ardglass (1,643)	Ballyholland (664)	
	Dundrum (1,551)	Mullaghbane (596)	
	Drumaness (1,344)	Ballymartin (506)	
	Burren (1,246)	Forkhill (498)	
	Camlough (1,081)	Strangford (495)	
	Mayobridge (1,068)	Jonesborough (465)	
Tier 4 - Small	The Spa (583)	Loughinisland (218)	Kileen (108)
Settlements	Darragh Cross (490)	Maghera (211)	Saul (97)
	Newtowncloghoge (457)	Burrenbridge (199)	Ballymadeerfy (69)
	Shrigley (437)	Kilclief (191)	Coney Island (57)
	Ballyhornan (369)	Clonvaraghan (186)	Altnamacken ***
	Belleek (375)	Drumaroad (183)	Ballymoyer ***
	Whitecross (352)	Lislea (180)	Ballyward***
	Drumintee (337)	Attical (171)	Carrickinab ***
	Kilcoo (335)	Ballynoe (169)	Chapeltown ***
	Sheeptown (333)	Glassdrumman, Co Armagh (165)	Dechomet***
	Annacloy (318)	Dunnaval/Ballyardle (161)	Derryboye ***
	Raholp (315)	Glen (147)	Dorsey ***
	Kilmore (310)	Longstone (147)	Drumaghlis ***
	Bryansford (306)	Barnmeen (136)	Finnis***
	Lurganare (294)	Ballyalton (132)	Greencastle ***
	Seaforde (263)	Mullaghglass (125)	Jerrettspass ***
	Cullaville (232)	Leitrim (121)	Tullyherron***
	Killowen (230)	Silverbridge (112)	
	Creggan (227)	Glassdrumman / Mullartown (110)	

Appendix B: Proposed Settlement Hierarchy and Populations for NMD District

Source: Headcount and Household Estimates for Settlements in Northern Ireland published 26/03/2015 http://www.nisra.gov.uk/census/2011/results/settlements.html

*** Output has been confined to those settlements exceeding the thresholds of 20 or more households and 50 or more usual residents.

Total Population of Newry, Mourne & Down District Council area 2011 - 171,533

Total Population of Down District Council area 2011 - 69,731

Total Population of Newry & Mourne District Council area 2011 - 99,480

Source: (Northern Ireland Census 2011 Key Statistics Summary Report September 2014)

Reclassification of settlement to higher tier

Reclassification of settlement to lower tier