NEWRY, MOURNE & DOWN DISTRICT COUNCIL

NMD/SC/2

Minutes of the (Shadow) Council Meeting held on 8 July 2014 at 6.00pm in Mourne Room, Downshire Civic Centre, Downpatrick

In attendance: (Councillors)

> Councillor T Andrews Councillor N Bailie

Councillor P Brown

Councillor R Burgess

Councillor S Burns

Councillor M Carr

Councillor C Casey

Councillor W.Clarke

Councillor G Craig

Councillor D Curran

Councillor G Donnelly

Councillor S Doran

Councillor S Ennis

Councillor C Enright

Councillor G Hanna

Councillor V Harte

Councillor H Harvey

Councillor T Hearty

Councillor D Hyland

Councillor L Kimmins

Councillor M Larkin

Councillor K Loughran

Councillor D McAteer Councillor K McAteer

Councillor C McGrath

Councillor H McKee

Councillor R Mulgrew

Councillor M Murnin

Councillor P Ó'Gribín

Councillor B Quinn

Councillor H Reilly

Councillor M Ruane

Councillor G Sharvin

Councillor G Stokes

Councillor D Taylor

Councillor JJ Tinnelly

Councillor W Walker

(Officials)

Mr L Hannaway, Chief Executive Designate Mrs D Starkey, Committee Administrator Ms C Miskelly, Head of Human Resources

Mr J Farrell, Director of Environment, Health & Building Services Mr G McGivern, Director of District Development Mrs R Mackin, Assistant Director of Administration (Equality)

Mr M Lipsett, Director of Recreation and Community Services

Mr C O'Rourke, Director of Environmental Services Mrs M Ward, Group Chief Building Control Officer

SC/13/2014: APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillors P Clarke, Devlin, Fitzpatrick and O'Muirí and Mr E Curtis, Chief Executive (Newry and Mourne District Council) and Mr J McBride, Changer Manager.

SC/14/2014: DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

SC/15/2014: MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Read: Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on 10 June

2014. (Copy circulated)

AGREED: The Minutes were AGREED as a correct record.

The Minutes were adopted on the PROPOSAL of Councillor

Hearty, SECONDED by Councillor Curran.

SC/16/2014: MINUTES OF GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE MEETING

Read: Minutes of Governance Committee Meeting held on 17 June

2014. (Copy circulated)

AGREED: The Minutes were AGREED as a correct record.

The Minutes were adopted on the PROPOSAL of Councillor

Donnelly, SECONDED by Councillor Craig.

SC/17/2014: MINUTES OF FINANCE AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

<u>MEETING</u>

Read: Minutes of Finance and Resources Committee Meeting held on

24 June 2014. (Copy circulated)

NOTED: The Chief Executive urged all Members to attend the Capital

Programme Workshop on 22 July 2014 at 11am in the

District Council Offices, Monaghan Row, Newry.

The Chief Executive confirmed he would request a level of representation from Directors from both Down District Council and Newry and Mourne District Council to be in attendance at

the Capital Programme Workshop.

AGREED: The Elected Member Development Sub Committee to

consist of the following Members:

• Sinn Fein – Councillor Casey and Councillor Mulgrew

• SDLP - Councillor Andrews and Councillor K McAteer

• DUP – Councillor Harvey

• UUP – Councillor Taylor

• Independents/UKIP/Alliance - Councillor P. Clarke

AGREED: The Minutes were AGREED as a correct record.

The Minutes were adopted on the PROPOSAL of Councillor

Andrews, SECONDED by Councillor Hearty.

Councillor Hyland joined the meeting during consideration of the following item -

6.15pm.

SC/18/2014: MINUTES OF DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE MEETING

Read: Minutes of Development Committee Meeting held on

2 July 2014. (Copy circulated)

AGREED: The Event Planning for Irish Open Sub Committee to

consist of the following Members:

Sinn Fein: Councillor W.Clarke and Councillor Doran SDLP: Councillor Fitzpatrick and Councillor Murnin

DUP: Councillor Hanna UUP: Councillor Burgess

Independents/UKIP/Alliance: To be confirmed

NOTED: In response to concerns raised by Councillor Reilly, the Chief

Executive agreed to look at arrangements for engagement with

Councillors within the District Electoral Area.

NOTED:	The Chief Executive pointed out the Department of Justice correspondence had requested the panel to shortlist and interview independent PCSP candidates should comprise of four Councillors.
	Members were advised at least two members of the panel were required to be female and that the panel should be cross community.
AGREED:	The Panel for shortlisting and interviewing independent PCSP Candidates (for the reconstitution of PCSP) to consist of the following Members: Sinn Fein: To be confirmed SDLP: To be confirmed DUP: Cllr G Craig UUP: Cllr H McKee
AGREED:	The Minutes were AGREED as a correct record.
	The Minutes were adopted on the PROPOSAL of Councillor Curran, SECONDED by Councillor Donnelly.
There being no further business the Meeting concluded at 6.20pm .	
For consideration at the Shadow Council Meeting to be held on Tuesday 5 August 2014.	
Signed:	
-	Presiding Councillor
Signed:	
J. J. 10 G.	

Chief Executive Designate