Home Telephone Location

Google Translate is not 100% accurate

Building Control

Local councils, through their Building Control Service, have a statutory duty to apply the Building Regulations. These are a set of construction requirements and they include regulations on structural stability, fire safety, energy conservation, accessibility and standards on health.

The role of Building Control includes assessing your plans and inspecting work at various stages as it is being built.

Although Building Regulations are a regulatory function of Council, and enforcement forms part of our business, our job is to provide a courteous, equitable and efficient service valued by all of our customers.

Opening Hours

Monday to Friday: 9am – 5pm

Contact Us

Oifig an Iúir Oifig Dhún Pádraig
Newry Office Downpatrick Office
O’Hagan House Downshire Civic Centre
Monaghan Row Downshire Estate, Ardglass Road
Newry BT35 8DJ Downpatrick BT30 6GQ
Telephone: 0300 013 2233
Email: buildingcontrol@nmandd.org

Area Information

The Council area is split between our two main offices in Downpatrick and Newry.

To check that your address is in our Council area click here.

The Downpatrick Office looks after six areas; the Building Control Surveyor for each area is:

Ballynahinch, Crossgar

Seamus Lonergan

Castlewellan, Newcastle

Terry O’Toole

Dundrum, Killough

Kevin O’Connor

Kilcoo, Leitrim, Ballyward

Brian Cunningham

(Senior Building Control Surveyor)

Saintfield, Killyleagh

Conor Miskelly

Strangford, Ardglass

Patrick Hobson

(Senior Specialist Building Control Surveyor)

Applications or inspection requests in these areas should be sent to the Downpatrick Office.

The Newry Office looks after seven areas; the Building Control Surveyor for each area is as follows:

Ballyholland, Mayobridge, Hilltown and Rathfriland

Richard McGivern

Ballyholland, Rathfriland Road, Derryleckagh Road, Hilltown Road and Ryan Road

Darren Mullen

(Senior Building Control Surveyor)

Bessbrook, Camlough, Whitecross, Armagh Road (Newry)

Raymond Sloane

Cranfield, Attical, Kilkeel, Ballymartin and Annalong

Kevin Devlin

Mullaghbawn, Meigh, Jonesborough, Forkhill, Silverbridge, Crossmaglen and Cullaville

Peter Daly

Newtownhamilton, Belleek, Cullyhanna, Killeavy and Newry City Centre

Kieran Smyth

Sheepbridge, Ashgrove, Glenn, Jerrettspass and Carnbane

Sean Trainor

Warrenpoint, Rostrevor and Killowen

Damien Clarke

Applications or inspection requests in these areas should be sent to the Newry Office.